The following entries in my blog represent my State Department Fellowship to Tajikistan in the Spring of 2011. During this time I got to experience the most hospitable culture I have ever known, meet people I will never forget, and fill what was formerly an unfamiliar place on a map with living memories, faces, tastes and experiences. I am a better person because of this trip, and the American students who come through my classroom will know this place better because of this experience.

By the way, the government requires me to post the following proviso regarding my blog entries for the trip they funded:

This blog is not an official U.S. Department of State website. The views and information presented are the grantee’s own and do not represent the Teaching Excellence and Achievement Program, the International Leaders in Education Program, IREX, or the U.S. Department of State.

Ok, now on to the experience . . .

